Mindfulness · productivity

Successfully practicing life like a delicious kiss

If you remember a delicious kiss (maybe your first one) you might recall your heart beating faster, your eyes closed increasing the sensation of your feelings, a sense of warm filling your body, your skin smiling. You were hugged, wrapped in cage of a rare energy where you never want to leave. Your eyes might have closed again losing  your thoughts in a colorful mysterious rhythm.

What happened is that you were living that moment fully aware, fully present, engaging your senses, your mind your soul. Your purpose became making fill the other person good as well as hanging to that precious moment like nothing else mattered.

What if we did everything like a delicious kiss? What if we were able to engage fully in the present, avoiding multi tasking, multi thinking and multi others?

I work from home, have five calls in average per day,  have several projects, currently lead two program and teach. I need to keep myself focus on the important task at hand.

This is how I organized myself:

  • I don’t use a single system to track all my todos. Too many project all with their own tracker make this impossible. I allow multi todos systems and trackers to exist: Trello, GitHub, OmniFocus, list of action items from a meeting, etc.
  • I use the Pomodoro Technique to book my calendar and focus on a particular theme or project. I set aside between 20 min to 3 hours  for each theme.
  • When I’m working in that project, Im fully focused and present. I concentrate in one task at a time.  I fully engage. I do not interrupt myself  by emails or other non-related tasks.
  • In my meetings, I’m listening, putting all my energy, trying to grasp the important ideas, trying to help and finding a best solution to a problem in hand. I imagine the other people on the other side and I consciously care.  This has made my meetings much better.

If we book in our calendar important time to advance our projects to achieve the goals in our lives, they should deserve that attention and concentration like a kiss. So I invite you to live your life engaging in the present, connecting with the people, listening, observing and feeling.  In other words, let’s all practice more kissing the moment. 

Leave a Reply

