goals

Spectacular structures to tell a story about your vision

IMG_0225I visited two weeks ago the Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque in Abu Dhabi, the biggest Mosque in the United Arab Emirates and the 8th biggest one on the world. The Mosque is an incredible symbol of modern art that can accommodate more than 40,000 people at the time of prayer. It clicked with me why visionaries build structures like this one to keep alive a message of their vision.

Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan, united in 1971-1972  the Emirates (Abu Dhabi, Ajman, Dubai, Kalba, Ras al-Khaimah, Sharjah and Umm al-Quwain) into one federation the United Arab Emirates (UAE). Twenty years later the Mosque construction began as a symbol that would represent the unity and the cultural diversity of the Islamic world. Now every time tourists go to the Mosque, they learn the story of Sheikh Zayed and how the United Arab Emirates came to be.

IMG_0221After visiting the Mosque, I went back to my hotel and did some work. At sunset, while I was mediating siting at the shore of the Fairmont Bab al Bahr hotel, listening to the waves from the  Khor Al Maqta waterway, and looking at the other end the Mosque lightening up, a question came to me:  What structure would I like to build so others can tell a story about my vision?

I have never thought about building a physical structure. I have always dreamed on creating a huge impact on the world by technology, innovation, and inspiration. How can I help save more lives, increase live longevity, make people happier, etc.

Two topics I like very much are technology and health. I believe sharing of and analyzing   (e.g. applying machine learning) data to understand better medical illness, pandemics and environmental impacts on health can improve the world we lived in. What will the structure for me look like?  I don't know. I will say that at the moment  I'm having good conversations with other like-minded architects.

Hopefully soon I wil have a structure like the Mosque to help tell my story.

 

Leave a Reply

